The Meek Shall Inherit the Earth

For more than twenty years I have been driving cars around on roads, legally. Today marks one of the very few “firsts” I have left to experience in a vehicle, while on the road. I’m still not sure how I feel about the whole thing.

I’m talking, of course, about metered merging on the on ramps.

I sat in line, waited my turn at the flashy light and sped off to join the enormous zipper of cars stretching up the highway. Except I couldn’t help and reflect, as I waited patiently, we mighty humans need a flashy light…don’t ants do this sort of thing without fancy lights?

I’m taking it as a biblical sign that the end is near.  You know the line? “…And the meek shall inherit the earth…”

 

12 thoughts on “The Meek Shall Inherit the Earth

  1. M, Glad to read you here! I get it but don’t get it totally. We on the East coast have heard something of this but not much. “All things begin in California” you know & spread to the rest of the USA….so we say & think!!!!!!!!!! Can you elaborate for me or write a followup post on exactly how metered merging on the on ramps works????????? I feel stupid. You wait for the light to flash & you go I guess you are saying??? !!! Did you read my “More Vietnam, No. 2: ‘Turkey Reagan’ ” latest post yet? –Your kind of post!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Merry Christmas!!! Missed you! Phil

    Like

      • Phil, are you ready for this?

        “Anything”!

        Heehee.

        It’s been crazy times here in the Miles house. I’ve been playing single mom (hubby has been working from 5:30 am to 8 or later six days a week) working, writing and celebrating chaos, as is my practice when it’s out of my hands.

        I’ve even had to *gasp* back off of my workout regimen just to keep up with everything else.

        It’s all with an end goal in mind and many fun days planned around the holidays, so totally worth it. But Phil…I haven’t forgotten you in the least.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

