The Butcher

Have you ever had people in your life  (lovers, parents, siblings, friends…Heck, I guess even an addiction could fall under this description..) that you hope and believe in and then they declare themselves? In no uncertain terms they make clear that they are there to cut you into tiny pieces? Not to feed you and nurture you, not light the way with their knowledge and wisdom…cut you up, feed you to dogs…that is what they are there for. Walk away from them. Here is my corny poem about that. 😉

 

The Butcher

I used to wonder who you were
imagining the love we could share
unencumbered, unmarred by things from the past.
Pretending that you could be whole,
finding something to last.
To fathom that I could be me
that truth would be easy
if we started out free.

Now you are naked
in front of my eyes.
You’ve declared who you are,
you’re nobody’s ally.
No guessing, no hoping, no tales I can tell,
not the enemy, not a friend as well.

You are the Butcher.

Like a slap and the loud sound of thunder,
jagged and jolting.
I can’t hate who you are for being a beast,
I no longer wonder
and no longer fear.
You’ve declared who you are
and I’m not scared in the least.

You are the Butcher.
Not the Baker.

You are unbreakable.
Except, just now,
you took off the mask,
showed me your face.
stepped from the shadow,
part of the rat race.

You are the Butcher,
not the Baker
or the Candlestick Maker.

Now you bear no disguise.
Rapest, repugnant
and rapacious cries;
words are your knife,
your mind and your deed;

You’re the Butcher.

Don’t hide.
I’m not afraid,
of an animal.
I’m also not blind,
I see your actions,
your loathing and
even your lies,

You’re the Butcher,
not the Baker.

Keep your kindness,
your friendship,
your mercy,
good deed.
My eyes don’t cry
and veins won’t bleed.

You’re the Butcher,
not the Baker,
not the Candlestick Maker.

8 thoughts on “The Butcher

  1. That was a pretty awesome concept. When I read the opening, I immediately understood the perspective.

    “In no uncertain terms they make clear that they are there to cut you into tiny pieces? Not to feed you and nurture you, not light the way with their knowledge and wisdom…cut you up, feed you to dogs…that is what they are there for. ”

    I label these people enemies in friend’s clothing. They are more harmful than an enemy, because their agenda remains hidden. The damage is more extensive because it comes when you least expect. Their words and actions cut deep, because these are people you would do anything for. Makes sense that you call them butchers. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

